On Grambling’s dramatic budget cuts for athletics … chicken or egg?

The state’s mandated budget reductions, surely, are difficult decisions at Grambling, as difficult as any an administration will make.

University of Louisiana System schools were told to trim their spending by a total figure, however, not by degree across the departments. So the choice to slash athletics was a locally generated one — as illustrated through the link above by the difference in nearby ULS schools, both part of the upper-classification Football Bowl Subdivision, which had similar (though smaller) budget cuts to make and largely left sports funding alone.

In deciding to suggest that nearly a quarter of its total 16 percent budget reductions come from athletics, the GSU administration was making one of two possible statements: 1) Sports is overfunded. Which can’t possibly be right. or 2) There are other, more important priorities that must be saved.

Which rekindles an age-old argument: The mission of a university, clearly, is to educate rather than to put on sporting events. Yet, the success of these teams inevitably becomes one of your principal front-porch marketing tools.

Chicken or the egg?

As fan comments below illustrate, either way, it’s time for the school’s loyalists to step in to bolster athletics. Now more than ever, you are the lifeblood of Grambling sports.

THE SCHOOL’S RESPONSE:
Grambling AD on slashed budget: ‘We won’t delete any sports’

8 comments

  1. If you supposedly love GSU, this is the time to show it….this tells you that schools who rely on state support for athletics without no real alumni financial support are in trouble when crisis occurs

  2. With great pride, I state that I am a Fall 1977 Magna Cum Laude graduate in Accounting from Grambling State University. In my 30 plus years in corporate America, the educational and social training from Grambling State University has allowed me to live a productive and interactive life. However, none of that was the reason I enrolled at Grambling. Coach Eddie Robinson's Grambling Highlights caught my eye. I never played football at Grambling, but it was love at first sight for me. To this day, I cheer for certain pro teams, I watch other college games, but I am the fan of only one school and one team.

    We can't afford to see our Storied program slasehed and reduced after all the hard work that we've done, sacrifices we've made, victories we've won. I know I used the pronoun "we" despite never playing a down. But that's the beauty of Grambling… we did play in our hearts, in our minds, and in our support. We really need that support now.

  3. If you supposedly love GSU, this is the time to show it….this tells you that schools who rely on state support for athletics without no real alumni financial support are in trouble when crisis occurs

  4. I didn't want to come to Grambling at first, I was wanted go to Wiley or Southern because I felt like both school had more tradition then Grambling. I lived 30 minutes from The Land of Black and Gold and was here two years before I feel in love with this university. My love for this university grows with the passing of the day and her beauty becomes the apple of my eye. And now it is time to go for just loving her to supporting her, because a husband that doesn't support his wife is not worth being married to. I am preparing for a summer job and with my money i am Pledging 1000 thousand dollars to athletics in the summer and 1000 to the university in the fall. Many people will ask me where will you get this kinda of money in a bad economy, and i will say just like Charles P Adams from the sweat of my back. I will support my beloved school with all the breathe in my body and no one will ever guess my love for her. It is time to put your love where you love is, it is time to stop fighting and start resisting what many people around us want to do, closed us down. So, it is time to decide do we keep fighting each other or fighting the pressure of the enemy to close the school that gave Louisiana a ambassador for years. It is time to love Grambling State University like never before, I ask you with all all of my being to give to this beloved place like ever before, because we are facing a 4. 8 million dollar cut in our budget and athletic is gonna have to take a 1.4 million dollar cut or 26% of the total cut. NOW, IT IS TIME TO CUT A CHECK AND YOU MIGHT NOT BE ABLE TO GIVE 2000 DOLLARS BUT YOU CAN GIVE A 100 OR 200, TO PRESERVE OUR PLACE WHERE EVERYBODY IS SOMEBODY

  5. With great pride, I state that I am a Fall 1977 Magna Cum Laude graduate in Accounting from Grambling State University. In my 30 plus years in corporate America, the educational and social training from Grambling State University has allowed me to live a productive and interactive life. However, none of that was the reason I enrolled at Grambling. Coach Eddie Robinson’s Grambling Highlights caught my eye. I never played football at Grambling, but it was love at first sight for me. To this day, I cheer for certain pro teams, I watch other college games, but I am the fan of only one school and one team.

    We can’t afford to see our Storied program slasehed and reduced after all the hard work that we’ve done, sacrifices we’ve made, victories we’ve won. I know I used the pronoun “we” despite never playing a down. But that’s the beauty of Grambling… we did play in our hearts, in our minds, and in our support. We really need that support now.

  6. I didn’t want to come to Grambling at first, I was wanted go to Wiley or Southern because I felt like both school had more tradition then Grambling. I lived 30 minutes from The Land of Black and Gold and was here two years before I feel in love with this university. My love for this university grows with the passing of the day and her beauty becomes the apple of my eye. And now it is time to go for just loving her to supporting her, because a husband that doesn’t support his wife is not worth being married to. I am preparing for a summer job and with my money i am Pledging 1000 thousand dollars to athletics in the summer and 1000 to the university in the fall. Many people will ask me where will you get this kinda of money in a bad economy, and i will say just like Charles P Adams from the sweat of my back. I will support my beloved school with all the breathe in my body and no one will ever guess my love for her. It is time to put your love where you love is, it is time to stop fighting and start resisting what many people around us want to do, closed us down. So, it is time to decide do we keep fighting each other or fighting the pressure of the enemy to close the school that gave Louisiana a ambassador for years. It is time to love Grambling State University like never before, I ask you with all all of my being to give to this beloved place like ever before, because we are facing a 4. 8 million dollar cut in our budget and athletic is gonna have to take a 1.4 million dollar cut or 26% of the total cut. NOW, IT IS TIME TO CUT A CHECK AND YOU MIGHT NOT BE ABLE TO GIVE 2000 DOLLARS BUT YOU CAN GIVE A 100 OR 200, TO PRESERVE OUR PLACE WHERE EVERYBODY IS SOMEBODY

  7. I think Grambling really needs that the support of its alumni more than ever. The school is a great school but I think it's time for some of their upper management leaders to be replaced, because a school with such great tradition in all areas, especially sports, shouldn't need support in its athletic programs. Grambling has made many mistakes with athletic decisions that have been and still are costly to the program. AND YES IT'S TIME TO CUT A CHECK TO A PLACE WHERE EVERYBODY IS SOMEBODY — BUT WHERE AND HOW WILL THE FUNDS BE USED. AT SOME POINT, YOU HAVE TO START AT THE TOP — CUTTING THE PEOPLE WHO MISUSE THESE FUNDS.

  8. I think Grambling really needs that the support of its alumni more than ever. The school is a great school but I think it’s time for some of their upper management leaders to be replaced, because a school with such great tradition in all areas, especially sports, shouldn’t need support in its athletic programs. Grambling has made many mistakes with athletic decisions that have been and still are costly to the program. AND YES IT’S TIME TO CUT A CHECK TO A PLACE WHERE EVERYBODY IS SOMEBODY — BUT WHERE AND HOW WILL THE FUNDS BE USED. AT SOME POINT, YOU HAVE TO START AT THE TOP — CUTTING THE PEOPLE WHO MISUSE THESE FUNDS.


Leave a Reply

